Sikkim is an Indian state in the north-eastern part of the country – one of the seven sisters (7 states of North-East India). The state shares borders with West Bengal on its south, Nepal to its west, Bhutan to its east and China to its North. The land in which Sikkim lies today was ruled in ancient period (BCE) by Buddhist priest-king(s) called the Chogyal, and later fell under the control of the Chinese.